Julie & Julia

Posted on Updated on

OK…so I waited until this move came out on the Comcast On Demand Channel…I got to watch it on the comfort of my own couch, a glass of great wine, and Mattie (my airedale) at my feet. I am by no means an expert movie critic. I just know what I like and don’t like. (just like wine) 🙂

I thought this movie was awesome…Meryl Streep was amazing. I can’t think of anyone else who could have played the part of Julia Childs. I can imagine the passion Julia Childs had for her cooking. That passion is what kept her going and is what she spread to others around her, enriching their lives as well.

This movie gave me inspiration. It gave me ideas. It lifted my spirits, and it left me wanting to know more about Julie Childs and her life long journey into the world of great cuisine. And to @voxinferior (on twitter) yes…it made me hungry…LOL – not only for her delicious recipes, but for my passion of great wine as I travel my journey.

I only hope I can enrich lives the way that Julia Childs did.

Cheers,

Passaggio Wines

7 thoughts on “Julie & Julia

    @nectarwine said:
    December 13, 2009 at 2:42 am

    Thanks for sharing! We were waiting for DVD for this movie too. We love Meryl Streep. Which of your wines did you pair with the movie 😉

    Josh @nectarwine (twitter)

      passaggiowines said:
      December 13, 2009 at 2:57 am

      You are welcome for the post…I had the CSJ Cinq Cepages with this movie…
      Cheers,

      Cindy

    Margo Rose HRMargo twitter said:
    December 13, 2009 at 2:50 am

    I love airdales, and Meryl Streep films. Sounds like a great night. Great post.

    @HRMargo Margo Rose

    Jon Bjork said:
    December 14, 2009 at 7:27 am

    My wife and I just finished watching Julie & Julia on DVD. Excellent! Meryl Streep WAS Julia Child as far as I was concerned. I’d give it a 95. Paired with a 2007 Borra Vineyards Clements Hills 47.5 Degree Syrah. I seriously need to get out Thomas Keller’s twist on Julia’s Boeuf Bourguignon recipe and have at it!

    joel Clark said:
    December 18, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    Hey there we loved the movie. I had met her a couple of times when I ran the Foor and Wine Center at Fetzer’s Valley Oaks Farm for many years. It was a great catch of who she was. Great lady. btw another example of the movie’s inspiration is my partner’s new blog that he started the day after we saw it, on our anniversary date. He is writing about a passion of his everyday for a year. Honoring heros of the holocaust. check it out at http://www.joedresch.wordpress.com

      passaggiowines said:
      December 18, 2009 at 11:00 pm

      Thanks so much for the comments…I will definitely check out your partner’s blog…cheers…

      Cindy

Thanks for commenting

